32 players remain in the hunt for coveted EPT London title

Posted by Steve Ruddock on Mar 14, 2013 Posted in EPT News, Tournament News | No Comments »

EPTWednesday was moving day at the PokerStars European Poker Tour (EPT) London Main Event as the 114 players that started Day 3 were trimmed down to just 32. A number of big names fell by the wayside on Day 3, but plenty of others survived, including three former EPT Champions who will have a shot at becoming the first repeat winners on the popular tour that is now into its ninth season.

The tournament began with 647 players over two starting flights earlier this week, and the 114 players who returned to the poker tables at the Vic on Wednesday found themselves right on the money-bubble –which burst very early on in the proceedings when Matthew Ashton was eliminated in 97th place—and once the money bubble burst play really picked-up.

Among the players still in contention for the EPT London title are, Steve O’Dwyer, Theo Jorgensen, Mike McDonald, Nicolas Chouity, Ruben Visser, Russell Carson, Jason Mercier, Annette Obrestad, and Chris Moorman. Mercier (2008 EPT San Remo Champion), McDonald (2008 EPT Dortmund Champion), and Chouity (2010 EPT Grand Final Champion) are the previous EPT winners looking to make history in the coming days.

Here is a look at the Top 10 chip-counts heading into Day 4 of the PokerStars EPT London Main Event:

1. Pasi Sormunen — 1,578,000

2. Niall Farrell — 1,510,000

3. Nicolas Chouity — 1,143,000

4. Christopher Frank — 1,098,000

5. Mantas Visockis — 983,000

6. Bassel Moussa — 872,000

7. Steve O’Dwyer — 800,000

8. Theo Jorgensen — 778,000

9. Tamer Kamel — 762,000

10. Daniel Erlandsson — 707,000

Action will resume at Noon local time with the remaining players entering into Level 20 of the tournament, with the blinds at 5,000/10,000 with a 2,000 chip ante. The plan for Day 4 of the tournament is to play down to the official final table of eight players before calling it a day. The final eight players will then reconvene on Friday to crown a champion and award the £700,000 first-place prize, and add their name to the list of former champions at the EPT London that includes the likes of Victoria Coren, Benny Spindler, and David Vamplew..

Here is a look at all of the previous winners at the European Poker Tour stop in London:

* 2004 (Season 1): John Shipley

* 2005 (Season 2): Mark Teltshcer

* 2006 (Season 3): Victoria Coren

* 2007 (Season 4): Joseph Mouawad

* 2008 (Season 5): Michael Martin

* 2009 (Season 6): Aaron Gustavson

* 2010 (Season 7): David Vamplew

* 2011 (Season 8): Benny Spindler


Leave a Reply

Promotional News

WSOPE High Roller Event In The Czech Republic Attracting Top Poker Players From All Over The World
King’s Casino in Rozvodov, Czech Republic has the reputation for hav …
Read more

Stars Group Launches New Poker Game PokerStars Power Up
Stars Group Incorporated has launched a new online poker game called P …
Read more

BetOnline Poker release Promo Code for 2017-2018
BetOnline Poker decides its time to change the tide of poker in 2017 w …
Read more

GPL Announces GPL Brazil Edition As It Begins Regional Push To Sportify Poker
The Global Poker League (GPL) had a mission to sportify the game of …
Read more