Chris Moorman takes over Player of the Year lead

Posted by Steve Ruddock on Oct 25, 2011 Posted in Poker Player News, Tournament News | No Comments »

Just how good has Lock Poker Pro Chris Moorman been over the course of 2011? Thanks to his second place finish in the 2011 World Series of Poker Europe Main Event the online phenom has now vaulted into the overall lead on the Card Player Magazine Player of the Year leader-board; not to mention sitting in the #6 hole on the site’s Online Player of the Year leader-board! Oh, and did I mention that Moorman finished less than 2 points behind Phil Hellmuth for the WSOP Player of the Year award (Ben Lamb will be the winner, but his official tally is yet unknown as he is still alive in the Main Event.

Moorman is one of the most successful online players in the history of the game, and has seamlessly transitioned to live tournament play during 2011 (a la Sorel Mizzi and Tom Marchese). In 2011 Moorman has final tabled both the Aussie Millions Main Event (7th place) and the WSOPE Main Event (2nd place), as well as finishing 2nd and 3rd in two WSOP preliminary events this summer.

Overall Moorman has won nearly $2.3 million in live tournaments this year, as well as close to $650k more in online tournaments.

Moorman now stands in firm control of the POY race, and would likely only be overtaken if one of the other top 5 players has an incredible run, coupled with Moorman sitting on a beach somewhere for the rest of 2011 –which seems to be the only way to keep Moorman from reaching a final table!

Here is a look at the current top 10 on the Card Player Magazine Player of the Year leader-board:

1. Chris Moorman — 5,875 points

2. Sam Stein — 4,505 points

3. Marvin Rettenmaier — 4,442 points

4. Elio Fox — 4,320 points

5. Galen Hall — 4,284 points

6. Eugene Katchalov — 4,048 points

7. Matthew Waxman — 4,005 points

8. Erik Seidel — 3,966 points

9. Maxim Lykov — 3,876 points

10. Alessio Isaia — 3,828 points

And here is a look at the Card Player Magazine Online Player of the Year leader-board:

1. Jason ‘jdpc27’ Wheeler — 7,160

2. Mike ‘CuteIsWhatIAim4’ Telker — 6,342

3. Schappuscha — 5,660

4. Flush_Entity — 5,610

5. Michael ‘Pipedream17’ Dietrich — 5,492

6. Chris ‘Moorman1’ Moorman — 5,374

7. Russell ‘rdcrsn’ Carson — 5,174

8. Benjamin ‘delaney_kid’ Delaney — 4,670

9. Aleh ‘cooltwister’ Plauski — 4,570

10. Paul ‘paulgees81’ Volpe — 4,544

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Promotional News

BetOnline BadBeat Jackpot Passes $563,000
The time is right to join the action at BetOnline Poker, especially if …
Read more giving away a Free $5 to new players
Online Rummy players can take advantage of an exciting new promotion a …
Read more

Lock Poker announces new exclusive tournament schedule
The Revolution Gaming Network has overhauled their tournament schedule …
Read more

Receive $10 Free from Winner Poker
Winner Poker is now offering new players at the site a free $10 deposi …
Read more