After 4 days 18 remain in WPT LA Poker Classic

Posted by Steve Ruddock on Feb 27, 2013 Posted in Tournament News, WPT News | No Comments »

wpt logoThe World Poker Tour LA Poker Classic was among the original stops on the now 11 year-old tour, and to this day, even in the gloomy aftermath of Black Friday, the tournament is among the biggest events of the year. This year was no exception on that front, with 517 entrants taking part in one of the few $10,000 buy-in Main Events remaining in poker, creating a near $5 million prize-pool and a first-place prize of just over $1,000,000.

After four days of action the field has been pared down to the final two tables, with a handful of well-known players near the top of the leader-board. Day four began with a slew of big names still in the hunt, but with players like Noah Schwartz, Ana Marquez, Jennifer Harman, Galen Hall, Eric Froehlich, Jesse Sylvia, Scott Clements, Joe Hachem, Dan Shak, Mimi Tran, Phil Laak, Carlos Mortensen, John Hennigan, Taylor Paur, and Dani Stern all falling on Day 4. So now the storylines fall on the following players:

Toby Lewis

One of the most accomplished UK players in tournament poker, Lewis recently signed with, and is perhaps looking for some of the run-good signing with Phil Ivey’s eponymously named website brings.

Paul Volpe

Volpe is a very accomplished online and live tournament player, and many feel that his time has come for a breakout year. So far Volpe has proven these people correct with a solid run in the 2013 PCA and now an even deeper run in the LA Poker Classic.

David Tuthill

Tuthill is coming off a win at the WSOP Circuit Series stop at Caesar’s Palace, and with a big finish in the LA Poker Classic, Tuthill will be a major player in the tournament Player of the Year races.

Jeremy Ausmus

The 2012 October Niner is proving to be no one-trick-pony, and could be one of the top young players in poker considering his tournament and cash-game chops.

Here is a look at the chip-counts and seating assignments for Day 5 of the WPT LA Poker Classic:


* Seat 1:  Blake Barousse  –  954,000  (47 bb)

* Seat 2:  Benjamin Zamani  –  1,380,000  (69 bb)

* Seat 3:  Michael “Squeaky” Winnett  –  300,000  (15 bb)

* Seat 4:  David Fong  –  733,000  (36 bb)

* Seat 5:  David Tuthill  –  1,086,000  (54 bb)

* Seat 6:  Toby Lewis  –  1,816,000  (90 bb)

* Seat 7:  Paul Klann  –  1,581,000  (79 bb)

* Seat 8:  Jesse Yaginuma  –  373,000  (18 bb)

* Seat 9:  Bruce Kramer  –  731,000  (36 bb)


* Seat 1:  Garrett Greer  –  793,000  (39 bb)

* Seat 2:  Alexander Venovski  –  675,000  (33 bb)

* Seat 3:  Randy Ohel  –  646,000  (32 bb)

* Seat 4:  Gary Lent  –  399,000  (19 bb)

* Seat 5:  Danny Fuhs  –  333,000  (16 bb)

* Seat 6:  Naoya Kihara  –  654,000  (32 bb)

* Seat 7:  Jeremy Ausmus  –  1,053,000  (52 bb)

* Seat 8:  Andrew Whitaker  –  436,000  (21 bb)

* Seat 9:  Paul Volpe  –  1,562,000  (78 bb)


Leave a Reply

Promotional News

$5 Free to play rummy giving away a Free $5 to new players
Online Rummy players can take advantage of an exciting new promotion a …
Read more

lock-Exlusive Lock Poker announces new exclusive tournament schedule
The Revolution Gaming Network has overhauled their tournament schedule …
Read more

WINNER Receive $10 Free from Winner Poker
Winner Poker is now offering new players at the site a free $10 deposi …
Read more

tom dwan viktor blom New Full Tilt VIP Program targets high-volume players
After recently dropping to #4 in the traffic rankings, according to po …
Read more