WSOP Notebook: Mercier confirms, Rule 88 and more

Posted by Steve Ruddock on Jun 05, 2012 Posted in WSOP News | No Comments »

It was a fairly routine day at the 2012 World Series of Poker, and had it not been for the postponement of the heads-up final between Joseph Cheong and Aubin Cazals it might have been even slower as that was the only bracelet handed out on Monday. However, the Big One for One Drop did get another official confirmation, and the slight lull in the action gives a chance to take a look at the early stats from the WSOP.

But the real news at the WSOP is the so-called Rule 88, which asks players to verbalize their actions at final tables. The rule has been controversial since the outset, but a recent Twitter feud has ramped up the issue.

Jon Aguiar vs. the WSOP

In an ongoing story that we first talked about on Sunday, Jon Aguiar is now in a full-blown Twitter war with the WSOP, and most notably Communications Director Seth Palansky. We have a full write-up on this story here.

Joseph Cheong comes up short in $5k Mix-Max

With the final two competitors back at the Rio at Noon on Monday the $5k Mix-Max NLHE tournament finally came to a close, and it was Aubin Cazals who emerged victorious, denying Joseph Cheong his first WSOP bracelet.

Jason Mercier adds his name to the Big One for One Drop tournament

Another big name in the poker world has confirmed that he will be playing in the $1,000,000 buy-in Big One for One Drop tournament at the 2012 WSOP, Jason Mercier. Mercier made the announcement via his Twitter account on Monday, stating: “Just put down my deposit to play ONE DROP! 1 mill buyin … #Nobigdeal Got one month to sell action I guess. Get at me 1.1 so 11,000 for 1%”

A look at the early numbers in the POY race and statistical leaders

Here is a look at the Top 10 on the 2012 WSOP POY leader-board along with the number of points they have accrued:

1. Aubin Cazals — 240.00

2. Brent Hanks — 230.00

3. Herbert Tapscott — 190.00

4. Leif Force — 187.50

5. Nick Jivkov — 170.00

6. Cory Zeidman — 170.00

7. Joseph Cheong — 168.00

8. Jacob Bazeley — 161.00

9. Andy Bloch — 150.00

10. Jason Koon — 144.25

19 players have cashed for over $100k thus far at the 2012 WSOP including, Bryan Pelligrino, Chris Bjorin, Andy Bloch, Vanessa Selbst, Jason Koon, Gavin Griffin, Leif Force, Andrew Badecker, and Joseph Cheong.

Six players have amassed three cashes at the 2012 WSOP including, John Juanda, Terrence Chan, Thomas Miller, Jared Solomon, Manuel Davidian, and Toby Lewis. Unfortunately for these players most of the cashes have been very small, as only Juanda and Lewis have over $30,000 in winnings.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Promotional News

$5 Free to play rummy giving away a Free $5 to new players
Online Rummy players can take advantage of an exciting new promotion a …
Read more

lock-Exlusive Lock Poker announces new exclusive tournament schedule
The Revolution Gaming Network has overhauled their tournament schedule …
Read more

WINNER Receive $10 Free from Winner Poker
Winner Poker is now offering new players at the site a free $10 deposi …
Read more

tom dwan viktor blom New Full Tilt VIP Program targets high-volume players
After recently dropping to #4 in the traffic rankings, according to po …
Read more