PokerStars finalizing 2013 WCOOP schedule

Posted by Steve Ruddock on Jul 22, 2013 Posted in Poker News | No Comments »

wcoop tournamentIt’s hard to believe that we are fast approaching the twelfth running on the PokerStars World Championship of Online Poker (WCOOP), and it’s even harder to believe how far the WCOOP has come since “MultiMarine” won the inaugural WCOOP Main Event back in 2002 for $65,450.

The 2013 WCOOP will be played from September 8th to the 29th, and will feature 66 separate tournaments over the three week time period. The schedule itself has been finalized by PokerStars, but the site is still working on the individual guarantees for the different tournaments.

An early version of the schedule (which PokerStars asked for feedback and input on) saw the Main Event bumped up to a $10,300 buy-in, but PokerStars decided to drop it back down to the familiar $5,200 buy-in after hearing from the poker community. The site also had designs on making the High-Roller tournament a $15,300 buy-in, but once again returned it to the usual $10,300 buy-in for the finished schedule.

You can take a look at the almost-complete 2013 PokerStars WCOOP schedule at the PokerStars Blog.

As I mentioned in the opening, the WCOOP was not always the 60+ event, millionaire-maker, tournament series it is today. The tournament dates back to the earliest days of PokerStars, and pre-dates the poker boom, but by 2007 the winner of the WCOOP Main Event was already receiving over $1 million.

Only one player can boast four WCOOP wins, poker legend Dan “djk123” Kelly, while two other players can lay claim to three WCOOP victories, Ryan ‘g0lfa’ D’Angelo and Anders ‘Donald’ Berg.

The biggest WCOOP score came in 2010 when Tyson Marks won the Main Event for over $2.2 million, the only time the tournament has awarded a $2 million prize. Over the past six years, every WCOOP Main Event winner has pocketed at least $1 million. Here is a look at all 11 WCOOP Main Event champions over the years according to

* 2002: MultiMarine (Täby, Sweden) – $65,450.00

* 2003: Joseph ‘DeOhGee’ Cordi (Indian Wells, California, USA) – $222,750.00

* 2004: Edgar ‘Ragde’ Skjervold (Oslo, Norway) – $424,945.26

* 2005: Jordan ‘Panella86’ Berkowitz (Eddystone, Pennsylvania, USA) – $577,342.00

* 2006: J.C. ‘area23JC’ Tran (Sacramento, California, USA) – $670,194.00 [156]

* 2007: Kyle ‘ka$ino’ Schroeder (Omaha, Nebraska, USA) – $1,228,330.50

* 2008: Carter ‘ckingusc’ King (Columbia, South Carolina, USA) – $1,265,432.00

* 2009: Yevgeniy ‘Jovial Gent’ Timoshenko (Seattle, Washington, USA) – $1,715,200.00

* 2010: Tyson ‘POTTERPOKER’ Marks (Missoula, Montana, USA) – $2,278,097.50

* 2011: Thomas ‘Kallllle’ Pedersen (Denmark) – $1,260,018.50

* 2012: Marat ‘maratik’ Sharafutdinov (Naberezhnye Chelny, Tatarstan, Russia) – $1,000,907.26

Leave a Reply

High Stakes News

Promotional News

Introducing the New and Improved Bad Beat Jackpot 2.0
Prepare for an exhilarating upgrade to our renowned Bad Beat Jackpot, …
Read more

Promo Code TTOPS100 Offers 100% Poker Bonus Match and FreeRoll Tournament, a popular online gaming site, has unveiled a new promoti …
Read more

10 reasons to play Poker at BetOnline in 2019
2019 seems to be the year poker players search for a new poker site to …
Read more

UK And EU Poker Players Should Check Out The New One Time Poker Website
Most poker players in the European Union and United Kingdom may not be …
Read more