WSOP Notebook: Phil Ivey and more Phil Ivey

Posted by Steve Ruddock on Jun 21, 2012 Posted in Poker News | No Comments »

This is my first shot at a late-night version of the WSOP Notebook and there is plenty to talk about, including some very intriguing news coming out of the One Drop tournament, which is now less than two weeks away. I’ll also take a look at a WSOP record that Phil Ivey is closing in on, and should he even keep up half of his current pace, he could put this record out of sight.

Phil Ivey closing in on final table record

An Tran. That’s the name of the man who holds the World Series of Poker record for the most final tables in a single year, and Tran, one of the greatest tournament players of the 1990’s holds the record with six final tables, which he set in 1992.

Ivey is currently sitting on five final tables at the 2012 WSOP (tying with names like Men Nguyen, Chris Ferguson, Johnny Chan, and Daniel Negreanu) but still has over 20 tournaments remaining before the end of the 2012 WSOP.

Even if Ivey does break An Tran’s record, it should be noted that An Tran made six final tables in just 17 events! Tran also cashed in a seventh event in 1992, finishing in 14th place. Tran made three final tables in 1991, and another three in 1993 (winning a bracelet in 1991 in the $1,500 PLO tournament). That’s 12 final tables in a three-year span, at a time when there were fewer than 20 events each year at the WSOP.

Phil Ivey is in for One Drop

According to Wendeen Eolis at Phil Ivey will be a participant in the Big One for One Drop. Since the initial list of entrants was released, and with each follow-up, poker fans were wondering about the curious absence of one name in particular, Phil Ivey. Well, if Eolis’ reporting is accurate (and it usually is) it looks like Ivey will be among the 48 or so players ponying-up the $1,000,000 buy-in for the historic tournament.

You can read more of Ivey, and some other interesting One Drop news at

Here is the current list of One Drop entrants, including the players that have declared they are playing but are not counted on the most recent “official” entrant-list:

1. Anonymous — U.S. Hedge Fund Manager

2. Anonymous – U.S. venture capitalist

3. Anonymous – European hedge fund manager

4. Anonymous – U.S. hedge fund manager

5. John Morgan — CEO, Winmark Corporation

6. Guy Laliberté

7. Phil Ruffin

8. Cary Katz

9. Paul Newey

10. Richard Yong

11. Andy Beal

12. Arnaud Mimran

13. Frédéric Banjout

14. Bob Bright

15. Paul Phua

16. Roger Teska

17. Eugene Katchalov

18. Jens Kyllönen

19. Jason Mercier

20. David Peat

21. Vivek Rajkumar

22. Andrew Robl

23. Nick Schulman

24. Noah Schwartz

25. Sam Trickett

26. Erik Seidel

27. Bobby Baldwin

28. Patrik Antonius

29. Gus Hansen

30. Daniel Negreanu

31. Johnny Chan

32. Tom Dwan

33. Jonathan Duhamel

34. Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier

35. Daniel Shak

36. Justin Smith

37. Giovanni “Malibu” Guarascio

38. Haralobos Voulgaris via Carlos Nahas

39. MGM Mirage satellite seat

40. Caesars Entertainment seat

41. Caesars Entertainment via June 30 $25,300 satellite at Rio

42. Mike Sexton

43. Jean-Robert Bellande

44. Phil Hellmuth

45. Phil Ivey

46. Ben Lamb

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

High Stakes News

Promotional News

Introducing the New and Improved Bad Beat Jackpot 2.0
Prepare for an exhilarating upgrade to our renowned Bad Beat Jackpot, …
Read more

Promo Code TTOPS100 Offers 100% Poker Bonus Match and FreeRoll Tournament, a popular online gaming site, has unveiled a new promoti …
Read more

10 reasons to play Poker at BetOnline in 2019
2019 seems to be the year poker players search for a new poker site to …
Read more

UK And EU Poker Players Should Check Out The New One Time Poker Website
Most poker players in the European Union and United Kingdom may not be …
Read more