2013 PCA Main Event down to 21 players

Posted by Steve Ruddock on Jan 12, 2013 Posted in EPT News, Tournament News | No Comments »

2012-PokerStars-PCAJust 21 players remain in the PokerStars PCA Main Event, each seeking a spot at the final table of the prestigious tournament. Among the players still in contention at the historic Main Event, marking the 10th Anniversary of the PCA, are a handful of well-known poker talents including Robert Mizrachi, Jonathan Roy, Mohsin Charania, Darren Elias, Olivier Busquet, Yann Dion, and Manig Loeser.

Another notable player heading into Day 5 of the tournament is Eddy Sabat. Sabat is a fairly accomplished poker player in his own right, but what makes his current run worthy of its own paragraph is that this is the third year in a row that Sabat has made a deep run in the PCA Main Event; no small feat considering the tournament has had between 987 entrants and over 1,560 entrants in that time frame. In 2011 Sabat finished in 30th place and last year he finished 40th in the tournament –which seems to indicate Sabat will be the second player knocked-out tomorrow, and he will finish 10th next year before winning the PCA in 2015. So book it now, Eddy Sabat will be the 2015 PCA Champion!

Leading the way into Day 5 will be Dimitar Danchev, who holds a comfortable lead over the field. Danchev is sitting on over 4 million chips, while his nearest competitor Owen Crowe has just 2.5 million. Danchev has a dozen cashes in major tournaments over the past few years, including a runner-up finish in the 2011 EPT San Remo Main Event and a 10th place finish in the $5,000 PLO event at the 2012 WSOP.

Here is a look at the Top 10 chip counts heading into Day 5 of the 2013 PCA Main Event:

1. Dimitar Dancheve – 4,080,000

2. Owen Crowe – 2,500,000

3. Ryan Fair – 2,496,000

4. Yann Dion – 2,296,000

5. Robert Mizrachi – 1,990,000

6. Michael Lipman – 1,562,000

7. Andrey Shatilov – 1,494,000

8. Joel Micka – 1,409,000

9. Matthew Reed – 1,375,000

10. Jerry Wong – 1,370,000

The Main Event will continue on Saturday as the remaining players compete for one of the eight final table spots up for grabs. The tournament will recommence at Noon local time.

Preliminary Events

Friday’s action at the PCA also saw Henrick Eide win the $5,000 PLO tournament, navigating a field of 72 players and besting a very tough final table that included Andrew Chen, Phil Hellmuth, Ramzi Jelassi, and Will Failla on his way to the title and a $122k payday.

1. Henrik Eide, Sweden, $122,220

2. Michael Swimelar, USA, $76,820

3. Andrew Chen, Canada, $45,400

4. Phil Hellmuth, USA, $33,180

5. Alexey Makarov, Russia, $24,440

6. Ramzi Jelassi, Sweden, $17,460

7. Michell Linares, Colombia, $15,720

8. Will Failla, USA, $13,960


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Promotional News

BetOnline BadBeat Jackpot Passes $563,000
The time is right to join the action at BetOnline Poker, especially if …
Read more

RummyRoyal.com giving away a Free $5 to new players
Online Rummy players can take advantage of an exciting new promotion a …
Read more

Lock Poker announces new exclusive tournament schedule
The Revolution Gaming Network has overhauled their tournament schedule …
Read more

Receive $10 Free from Winner Poker
Winner Poker is now offering new players at the site a free $10 deposi …
Read more