This Week in Poker Tournaments: Borgata, WCOOP, and more

Posted by Steve Ruddock on Sep 14, 2013 Posted in Tournament News | No Comments »

World-Series-of-Poker-July-2010-dealer-tables-300x200It was a fairly slow week on the tournament front, as the EPT and WPT are both transitioning to their next Main Event tournament stops, but that doesn’t mean there isn’t plenty of news to bring you as tournament series ranging from the Borgata Poker Open to the PokerStars WCOOP were in action over the past week.

Marcel Luske Nearly Wins WCOOP Event #16

1,823 players registered for Event #16 of the 2013 WCOOP, a $215 PLO tournament. After the elimination of Marcel in 3rd place it was a Russian player by the name of “Yoo4” who would be declared the winner, after chopping the prize-money with his heads-up opponent.

Here is a look at the final table payouts:

1. Yoo4 (Russia) *$51,796.11

2. A-Dog84 (Norway) *$50,291.89

3. Team PokerStars Pro Marcel Luske (Malta) $32,814.00

4. ComptonMasta (Canada) $21,876.00

5. bijjoost (Netherlands) $14,584.00

6. KilleR397 (Ukraine) $8,604.56

For a complete look at the final table you can visit the PokerStars blog

Event #1 of the Borgata Poker Open a Record-Setter

The 11th annual Borgata Poker Open got underway back on September 3 with a $500 buy-in No Limit Holdem tournament that drew 4,482 entrants, setting the record for the largest tournament in East Coast poker history. With a $2.2 million prize-pool, players who were fortunate enough to make the final table of the event were handsomely rewarded:

1. Maksim Rozenfeld – $363,091

2. Dan Wach – $235,627

3. Alida Veliu – $155,639

4. Brian Henryk – $127,898

5. Alex Apostol – $102,969

6. Igor Skochilo – $79,124

7. Vimy Ha – $56,362

8. Andjelko Andrejevic – $40,624

9. Ryan Dion – $26,013

Will Failla Wins Fifth Borgata Poker Open Tournament

For the fifth time in his tournament career Will Failla was victorious in a tournament at the Borgata Poker Open. This time around Failla triumphed over a 159 player field in Event #6, a $1,000 buy-in NLHE tournament.

1. Will Failla – $46,269

2. Jonas Wexler – $25,448

3. Anthony Zinno – $14,652

4. Michael Sneideman – $12,338

5. Ryan Feldman – $9,254

6. Glen Minxolli – $7,712

7. Cary Marshall – $6,169

8. William Jennings – $4,627

9. Xin Jin – $3,470

The Croc Chews Up the Competition in Melbourne

The PokerStars APPT Main Event tournament in Melbourne was won by an Aussie poker legend, Billy, “The Croc” Arygos, who bested a field of 309 players to take home the title. However, “The Croc” wasn’t the biggest winner; as a three-way deal at the final table saw the second-place finisher, Bowdy Tolhopf, pocket the most money:

1. Billy “The Croc” Argyros – $123,795*

2. Bowdy Tolhopf – $152,788*

3. David Yan – $122,415*

4. Ashley Mason – $53,752

5. Robert Damelian – $42,247

6. Joe Cabret – $34,561

7. Phi Luu – $26,876

8. Ravi Maravar – $21,096

9. Jazz Mathers – $15,325


Leave a Reply

Promotional News

King’s Casino Welcomes The Dutch Poker Classic This Month
The prestigious establishment that is the King’s Casino will play ho …
Read more

MPN Poker Tour Will Return To Tallinn, Estonia And Kick Things Off From October 19
The MPN Poker Tour will be back in Tallinn, the capital of Estonia in …
Read more

Partypoker Continues Rebuilding Process By Signing Fedor Holz As New Brand Ambassador
Partypoker announced last year that it was going to focus on rebuildin …
Read more

Global Poker League Launches GPL India Edition But Is Yet To Confirm Dates
India it witnessing a rapid growth in poker as international poker ope …
Read more