Belgian David Kitai adds to his poker legacy

Posted by Steve Ruddock on Jun 13, 2013 Posted in Poker Player News, WSOP News | No Comments »

wsop bracelet2Davd Kitai was already considered the best Belgian poker player in the game, past or present, but his WSOP bracelet win on Tuesday – the second of his career– pretty much cemented that legacy, at least for the time being. In addition to being a two-time WSOP bracelet winner, Kitai is one of five Triple Crown winners in poker, having won a WSOP bracelet, an EPT title, and a WPT title –it should be pointed out that his WPT title was in a non-Championship tournament so his Triple Crown does have an asterisk attached to it.

His recent win in the $5k Pot Limit Holdem tournament is Kitai’s second WSOP victory in Pot Limit Holdem tournament, his first win coming in 2008 when he won the $2k Pot Limit Holdem tournament. In 2008 Kitai bested a pretty anonymous final table that only had one other recognizable name, Lee Watkinson, but this time he would need to beat some of the biggest stars in the game to win the bracelet.

The final table of Event #19, the $5k Pot Limit Holdem tournament featured a murderer’s row lineup that included Team PokerStars Pros Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier, Eugene Katchalov, and Dario Minieri, along with Chris Johnson, Carey Katz, and Dimitar Danchev.

Here is a look at the final table payouts from the tournament:

1. Davidi Kitai – $224,560

2. Cary Katz – $138,794

3. Vincent Bartello – $103,628

4. Dimitar Danchev – $77,893

5. Eugene Katchalov – $58,912

6. Kristina Holst – $44,844

7. Bertrand Grospellier – $34,341

8. Dario Minieri – $26,468

9. Chris Johnson – $20,520

With the win Kitai can now lay claim to the following accomplishments:

* First Belgian to win a WSOP bracelet

* First Belgian to win two WSOP bracelets

* First Belgian to win an EPT Championship

* First Belgian to win a WPT Championship

* First Belgian to win the Triple Crown

* $3.3 million in career tournament earnings

* #1 on the Belgium all-time money-list

Kitai may be the Godfather of Belgian poker and the best-known Belgian player in the game right now, but there are some other fairly accomplished players from the small European country that plays home to the United Nations, including Pierre Nueville, Kevin Vandersmissen, and Matthias De Meulder. Here is a look at the top 10 on the Belgium all-time money-list:

1. Davidi Kitai — $3,386,021

2. Pierre Neuville — $1,547,515

3. Kevin Vandersmissen — $1,529,485

4. Kenny Hallaert — $840,360

5. Michael Gathy — $834,760

6. Matthias De Meulder — $678,049

7. Joris Springael — $611,401

8. Jamel Maistriaux — $546,416

9. Koen De Visscher — $521,821

10. Daniel Dodet — $518,603

The other four Triple Crown winners are: Gavin Griffin, Roland De Wolfe, Jake Cody, and Bertrand Grospellier.


Leave a Reply

Promotional News

WSOPE High Roller Event In The Czech Republic Attracting Top Poker Players From All Over The World
King’s Casino in Rozvodov, Czech Republic has the reputation for hav …
Read more

Stars Group Launches New Poker Game PokerStars Power Up
Stars Group Incorporated has launched a new online poker game called P …
Read more

BetOnline Poker release Promo Code for 2017-2018
BetOnline Poker decides its time to change the tide of poker in 2017 w …
Read more

GPL Announces GPL Brazil Edition As It Begins Regional Push To Sportify Poker
The Global Poker League (GPL) had a mission to sportify the game of …
Read more