Scott Seiver wins Party Poker Premier League V

Posted by Steve Ruddock on Apr 10, 2012 Posted in Poker News | No Comments »

Scott Seiver started the eight-man final table of the Party Poker Premier League V final table as one of the shortest stacks in the field, starting with 300,000 chips. Seiver’s tally was 100,000 less than chip-leader Mathew Frankland, but by the end of the day it would be the reigning WPT Championship winner Seiver who would walk away with the Party Poker Premier League title as well as the $500,000 in prize-money that went to the winner.

The eight finalists were all guaranteed at least $65,000 for making the final table, but with a $500,000 first-place prize all eyes were squarely focused on winning the event. Here is a look at the chip-stacks the players took into the final table; each player was awarded 10,000 chips for every point they earned during their four preliminary heats:

* Mathew Frankland — 400,000

* Daniel Cates – 380,000

* Sam Trickett — 330,000

* Patrik Antoius – 320,000

* Scott Seiver – 300,000

* Tony G — 300,000

* Phil Laak – 290,000

* Tom Dwan – 280,000

It took some time before the first player hit the rail –nearly an hour into the day’s action—and the second elimination would come another hour after that, but once the first two players hit the rail players started falling by the wayside fairly rapidly.

Titan Poker pro Sam Trickett was the first player to hit the rail after running AK-suited into Patrik Antonius’ Pocket Aces. Perhaps even more shocking than the elimination of Trickett was the elimination of Mathew Frankland, the amateur qualifier who started the day as the chip-leader, but wound-up finishing in 7th place after losing an all-in coin-flip to Tom Dwan. Dwan was the next player to be eliminated, followed by Tony G, Patrik Antonius and Phil Laak.

After the players started hitting the rail it was Scott Seiver and Daniel Cates who were left standing as the tournament entered the heads-up stage. The two players entered heads-up play fairly even in chips and with plenty of room to maneuver considering the blinds weren’t forcing the action. In the end it was Seiver who would defeat Cates, considered one of the top heads-up No Limit Holdem players in the world.

Here is a look at how the final table fared at the Party Poker Premier League V:

* 1st place: Scott Seiver — $500,000

* 2nd place: Daniel Cates — $300,000

* 3rd place: Phil Laak — $175,000

* 4th place: Patrik Antonius — $125,000

* 5th place: Tony G — $100,000

* 6th place: Tom Dwan — $80,000

* 7th place: Mathew Frankland — $65,000

* 8th place: Sam Trickett — $55,000

Seiver joins previous Premier League winners Andy Frankenberger, Juha Helpi, Andy Black, JC Tran, and David Benyamine in hoisting the trophy.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

High Stakes News

Promotional News

Introducing the New and Improved Bad Beat Jackpot 2.0
Prepare for an exhilarating upgrade to our renowned Bad Beat Jackpot, …
Read more

Promo Code TTOPS100 Offers 100% Poker Bonus Match and FreeRoll Tournament, a popular online gaming site, has unveiled a new promoti …
Read more

10 reasons to play Poker at BetOnline in 2019
2019 seems to be the year poker players search for a new poker site to …
Read more

UK And EU Poker Players Should Check Out The New One Time Poker Website
Most poker players in the European Union and United Kingdom may not be …
Read more