Dana Castaneda first female bracelet winner of 2013

Posted by Steve Ruddock on Jul 03, 2013 Posted in Tournament News, WSOP News | No Comments »

wsop bracelet2On Tuesday night Dana Castaneda became the first woman not named Vanessa Selbst to win an open-event at the World Series of Poker since Annette Obrestad and Katja Thater won WSOP bracelets back in 2007. Castaneda was victorious in Event #54, a $1,000 buy-in No Limit Holdem tournament, earning $454,207 after triumphing over a field of 2,883 players.

Castaneda made a remarkable comeback to win the tournament, as she came to the final table as the short-stack, but managed to chip-up and by the time the tournament was five-handed held the chip-lead and pretty much cruised to the title. Perhaps the turning point of the final tabled came on the hand that Castaneda took the chip-lead: According to the WSOP live reporting, Castaneda opened to 100k and was 3-Bet by Barry Hutter to 400k, which she called with her Pocket 3’s. On a T-4-4 flop Castaneda led out for 400k and Hutter jammed for 1.2 million. Castaneda then made the difficult but correct call as Hutter rolled over an unimproved A-K. A brick on the turn and river sent Hutter to the rail and propelled her to the chip-lead.

Here is a look at the final table payouts from the tournament:

1. Dana Castaneda – $454,207

2. Jason Bigelow – $281,991

3. Matthias Bednarek – $198,883

4. Michael Zucchet – $143,642

5. Philippe Clerc – $105,007

6. Barry Hutter – $77,685

7. Jacob Bazeley – $58,147

8. Joseph Wertz – $44.032

9. Kenneth Gregersen – $33,731

After last year’s performance by female poker players (which included bracelet wins by Vanessa Selbst and Allyn Jaffrey Shulman; a 10th and 11th place showing in the WSOP Main Event and countless final tables) an open-event win by a female player may not seem like all that big of a deal, but when you consider that prior to Castaneda’s win; in the 44 year-history of the WSOP only 15 open-event bracelets have been won by women (17 if you count Clare Miller’s 2006 and Allyn Jaffrey Shulman’s 2012 Seniors Tournament wins):

* 1982 Vera Richmond Limit Ace to Five Draw

* 1996 Barbara Enright Pot Limit Hold’em

* 1997 Linda Johnson Limit Razz

* 1997 Maria Stern Limit Seven Card Stud

* 2000 Jerri Thomas Limit Seven Card Stud

* 2000 Jennifer Harman No Limit 2-7 Lowball

* 2001 Nani Dollison Limit Hold’em

* 2002 Jennifer Harman Limit Hold’em

* 2004 Annie Duke Omaha Hi Lo Split 8 or Better

* 2004 Cyndy Violette Seven Card Stud Hi Lo Split 8 or Better

* 2004 Kathy Liebert Limit Hold’em Shootout

* *2006 Clare Miller Seniors No Limit Hold’em

* 2007 Katja Thater Seven Card Razz

* 2007 Annette Obrestad WSOPE Main Event No Limit Hold’em

* 2008 Vanessa Selbst Pot Limit Omaha

* 2012 Vanessa Selbst 10-Game Mix Six-Handed

* *2012 Allyn Jaffrey Shulman Seniors No Limit Hold’em

* 2013 Dana Castaneda No Limit Hold’em

 *resources: www.wsop.com

Leave a Reply

Promotional News

BetOnline.ag launch Christmas Poker Promo: 25 Days of Christmas
BetOnline.ag launched their Christmas promo last week named: 25 Days o …
Read more

Poker Pros Have Twitter Debate On Whether WPT Five Diamond Main Event Structure Should Be Changed
The WPT Five Diamond Poker Classic is scheduled to take place at the B …
Read more

Floyd Mayweather Sets His Sights On The Gaming Industry With The Launch Of Wild Poker
The world of mobile games took an interesting turn of events with ONE …
Read more

Phil Ivey Joins Virtue Poker As Cryptocurrency Poker Room Prepares For Fall 2018 Launch
Phil Ivey has become the latest poker pro to sign up as a strategic ad …
Read more