Details released for Paddy Power’s 2012 Irish Open

Posted by Steve Ruddock on Oct 27, 2011 Posted in Irish Open, Irish Poker News | No Comments »

On Wednesday Paddy Power Poker released the details for their 2012 Irish Open tournament, one of the most popular and longest-running tournaments in poker. The tournament will be held at the Burlington Hotel in Dublin from April 6th to the 9th, 2012 with a buy-in of €3,200 + €300 for the Main Event –the complete preliminary tournament schedule is still in the works.

The Irish Open was first started by Irish poker legend Terry Rogers way back in 1980 (Rogers is credited with bringing the game of Texas Holdem to Ireland and ran the first poker club in Ireland, the Eccentric Club). Previous winners of the tournament include Marty Smyth, Neil Channing, Mickey Finn, Liam Flood, Noel Furlong, and Joe Beevers.

Paddy Power Poker is already scheduling a full slate of satellites into the Irish Open Main Event, and as they did last year, the site is offering a massive $100,000 bonus to the player who is the last online qualifier standing in the tournament –a promotion the site calls the “€100k Sole Survivor”.

A spokesman for Paddy Power Poker told Card Player Magazine “It is always exciting to launch the Irish Open each year, and we hope to make the next one even bigger and better than that of the past. We’re launching the online satellites nice and early this year so that people have more time to win their seat at a bargain on

“Next year there is a big possibility that we will have the 2011 World Series of Poker Champion in attendance – that is, if things go to plan for young Irish player Eoghan O’Dea next month at the final table of the WSOP 2011. We are all routing for you Eoghan!!”

O’Dea will be sporting the Paddy Power Poker patch at the final table, just as he did throughout the entire World Series of Poker.

Here is a look at the winners of the Irish Open going all the way back to 1980:

* 2011 Niall Smyth

* 2010 James Mitchell

* 2009 Christer Johansson

* 2008 Neil Channing

* 2007 Marty Smyth

* 2006 Vincent Melinn

* 2005 John Falconer

* 2004 Ivan Donaghy

* 2003 Joe Beevers

* 2002 Nick Bernie

* 2001 Jenny Hegarty

* 2000 Alan Betson

* 1999 Liam Barker

* 1998 Mickey Finn

* 1996 Liam Flood

* 1994 Mickey Finn

* 1993 Christie Smith

* 1991 Colette Doherty

* 1990 Liam Flood

* 1989 Noel Furlong

* 1988 Jimmy Langan

* 1987 Noel Furlong

* 1986 Bryan McCarthy

* 1985 Irene Tier

* 1984 Tony Byrne

* 1983 Jimmy Langan

* 1982 Frank Conway

* 1981 Sean Kelly

* 1980 Colette Doherty

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Promotional News

WSOPE High Roller Event In The Czech Republic Attracting Top Poker Players From All Over The World
King’s Casino in Rozvodov, Czech Republic has the reputation for hav …
Read more

Stars Group Launches New Poker Game PokerStars Power Up
Stars Group Incorporated has launched a new online poker game called P …
Read more

BetOnline Poker release Promo Code for 2017-2018
BetOnline Poker decides its time to change the tide of poker in 2017 w …
Read more

GPL Announces GPL Brazil Edition As It Begins Regional Push To Sportify Poker
The Global Poker League (GPL) had a mission to sportify the game of …
Read more