Details released for Paddy Power’s 2012 Irish Open

Posted by Steve Ruddock on Oct 27, 2011 Posted in Poker News | No Comments »

On Wednesday Paddy Power Poker released the details for their 2012 Irish Open tournament, one of the most popular and longest-running tournaments in poker. The tournament will be held at the Burlington Hotel in Dublin from April 6th to the 9th, 2012 with a buy-in of €3,200 + €300 for the Main Event –the complete preliminary tournament schedule is still in the works.

The Irish Open was first started by Irish poker legend Terry Rogers way back in 1980 (Rogers is credited with bringing the game of Texas Holdem to Ireland and ran the first poker club in Ireland, the Eccentric Club). Previous winners of the tournament include Marty Smyth, Neil Channing, Mickey Finn, Liam Flood, Noel Furlong, and Joe Beevers.

Paddy Power Poker is already scheduling a full slate of satellites into the Irish Open Main Event, and as they did last year, the site is offering a massive $100,000 bonus to the player who is the last online qualifier standing in the tournament –a promotion the site calls the “€100k Sole Survivor”.

A spokesman for Paddy Power Poker told Card Player Magazine “It is always exciting to launch the Irish Open each year, and we hope to make the next one even bigger and better than that of the past. We’re launching the online satellites nice and early this year so that people have more time to win their seat at a bargain on

“Next year there is a big possibility that we will have the 2011 World Series of Poker Champion in attendance – that is, if things go to plan for young Irish player Eoghan O’Dea next month at the final table of the WSOP 2011. We are all routing for you Eoghan!!”

O’Dea will be sporting the Paddy Power Poker patch at the final table, just as he did throughout the entire World Series of Poker.

Here is a look at the winners of the Irish Open going all the way back to 1980:

* 2011 Niall Smyth

* 2010 James Mitchell

* 2009 Christer Johansson

* 2008 Neil Channing

* 2007 Marty Smyth

* 2006 Vincent Melinn

* 2005 John Falconer

* 2004 Ivan Donaghy

* 2003 Joe Beevers

* 2002 Nick Bernie

* 2001 Jenny Hegarty

* 2000 Alan Betson

* 1999 Liam Barker

* 1998 Mickey Finn

* 1996 Liam Flood

* 1994 Mickey Finn

* 1993 Christie Smith

* 1991 Colette Doherty

* 1990 Liam Flood

* 1989 Noel Furlong

* 1988 Jimmy Langan

* 1987 Noel Furlong

* 1986 Bryan McCarthy

* 1985 Irene Tier

* 1984 Tony Byrne

* 1983 Jimmy Langan

* 1982 Frank Conway

* 1981 Sean Kelly

* 1980 Colette Doherty

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

High Stakes News

Promotional News

Introducing the New and Improved Bad Beat Jackpot 2.0
Prepare for an exhilarating upgrade to our renowned Bad Beat Jackpot, …
Read more

Promo Code TTOPS100 Offers 100% Poker Bonus Match and FreeRoll Tournament, a popular online gaming site, has unveiled a new promoti …
Read more

10 reasons to play Poker at BetOnline in 2019
2019 seems to be the year poker players search for a new poker site to …
Read more

UK And EU Poker Players Should Check Out The New One Time Poker Website
Most poker players in the European Union and United Kingdom may not be …
Read more