2012 WSOP Europe Main Event down to final 3 tables

Posted by Steve Ruddock on Oct 03, 2012 Posted in Poker News | No Comments »

With the tournament down to just 24 players, some of the biggest names in poker are battling for one of the eight spots at the final table of the 2012 World Series of Poker Europe Main Event final table. Among the players competing for a the chance to be the next WSOPE Main Event champion (one of the most coveted titles in poker) are Joseph, Cheong, Phil Hellmuth, Jason Mercier, Kyle Julius, Toby Lewis, Liv Boeree, Steve Dannenmann, David Benyamine, Scott Seiver, and Andy Frankenberger.

Hellmuth has had a fantastic WSOPE thus far, even though he has yet to make a final table. As the “Poker Brat” continues on his quest for WSOP bracelet #13 (as well as the 2012 WSOP Player of the Year Award) he is hoping that his streak of Top 15 finishes comes to an end and a final table appearance at the WSOPE Main Event is in the cards. Hellmuth would also become the first player to ever win the WSOP and WSOPE Main Event – a feat I’m sure he would take about until the end of time.

Here is a look at the chip-leaders heading into the penultimate day of the 2012 WSOPE Main Event:

1. Joseph Cheong – 1,381,000

2. Paul Tedeschi – 1,071,000

3. Sergii Baranov – 1,055,000

4. Christopher Brammer – 956,000

5. Jason Mercier – 824,000

6. Phil Hellmuth – 741,000

7. Max Silver – 656,000

8. Curt Kohlberg – 607,000

9. Timothy Adams – 577,000

10. Joe McGowan – 518,000

Among the players eliminated in the money on Day 3 of the WSOP Main Event were Bertrand Grospellier (25th place for €22,982), Philipp Gruissem (29th place for €22,982), Emil “WhiteLime” Patel (31st place for €22,982), J.C. Alvarado (33rd place for €21,250), Kevin Stammen (34th place for €21,250), Bruno Fitoussi (35th place for €21,250), and ISPT front-man Prosper Masquelier (36th place for €21,250).

Players who went home empty-handed on Day 3 included Sam Trickett, Dan Smith, Jean-Robert Bellande, Jonathan Little, Tobias Reinkemeier, and Martin Jacobson.

Day 4 will see the remaining players in action until the final eight players are determined at which point the tournament will break until Thursday, when the next WSOPE Main Event Champion will be crowned. Here is a look at the previous WSOPE Main Event winners:

* 2007 WSOPE Main Event Champion: Annette Obrestad — £1,000,000

* 2008 WSOPE Main Event Champion: John Juanda — £868,800

* 2009 WSOPE Main Event Champion: Barry Shulman — £801,603

* 2010 WSOPE Main Event Champion: James Bord — £830,401

* 2011 WSOPE Main Event Champion: Elio Fox — €1,400,000



Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

High Stakes News

Promotional News

Introducing the New and Improved Bad Beat Jackpot 2.0
Prepare for an exhilarating upgrade to our renowned Bad Beat Jackpot, …
Read more

Promo Code TTOPS100 BetOnline.ag Offers 100% Poker Bonus Match and FreeRoll Tournament
BetOnline.ag, a popular online gaming site, has unveiled a new promoti …
Read more

10 reasons to play Poker at BetOnline in 2019
2019 seems to be the year poker players search for a new poker site to …
Read more

UK And EU Poker Players Should Check Out The New One Time Poker Website
Most poker players in the European Union and United Kingdom may not be …
Read more