2013 WSOP November Nine set: 2001 champ bubbles

Posted by Steve Ruddock on Jul 16, 2013 Posted in Poker News | No Comments »
WSOP Nov 9

photo courtesy of www.wsop.com

The 2013 World Series of Poker Main Event final table had a chance to be one for the ages, but with the elimination of 2001 WSOP Main Event winner, and future Poker Hall of Famer, Carlos Mortensen in 10th place, the final table went from all-time-great, to merely stacked. Perhaps the most annoying aspect of Mortensen’s elimination is that this is the second consecutive year where the official final table “bubble-person” has changed the entire complexion of the final table and how it will be covered.

As a poker writer and a long-time fan of the game, it’s safe to say that the absolute worst outcome occurred when Mortensen bubbled (just as it did last year when Elisabeth Hille and Gaelle Baumann finished 11th and 10th respectively) considering he is one of the all-time greats in the game(see below), and his inclusion would have marked the first time a previous winner of the Main Event made the final table since Dan Harrington in 2004.

Mortensen is tied with Gus Hansen as the only three-time winner on the World Poker Tour, has two WSOP bracelets, is 16th on the all-time money list (4th on the European all-time money list) with over $11.4 million in career tournament earnings, and to paraphrase Mike Matusow, “He doesn’t play a ton of tournaments,” which makes his record all the more impressive.

Still, even with the loss of Mortensen the final table is the most accomplished since the collection of talent that Chris Moneymaker overcame in his 2003 WSOP run. With four recognizable names, including two-time WSOP bracelet winner JC Tran and bracelet winner Amir Lehavot, along with Internet era icons Mark Newhouse and David Benefield, the 2013 WSOP final table shouldn’t run into the anonymous poker pro problem from last year.

This is also the first time in recent memory where the star player –in this case JC Tran—has entered the final table as the chip-leader, which should create an interesting dynamic, one that was missing in the years that Phil Ivey, Allen Cunningham, Mike Matusow, and Mike Mizrachi made the final table.

The players will now be off until early November, at which time they will return to the Rio to compete for the $8.3 million first-place prize and their spot in the poker history books. As has been the case since the beginning of the November Nine format, each of the final table participants left the Rio with 9th place prize-money on Tuesday morning.

Here is a look at the chip-counts for each player:

1. JC Tran — 38,000,000

2. Amir Lehavot — 29,700,000

3. Marc McLaughlin — 26,525,000

4. Jay Farber — 25,975,000

5. Ryan Riess — 25,875,000

6. Sylvain Loosli — 19,600,000

7. Michiel Brummelhuis — 11,275,000

8. Mark Newhouse — 7,350,000

9. David Benefield — 6,375,000

*Resources: www.wsop.com, www.thehendonmob.com


Leave a Reply

High Stakes News

Promotional News

Introducing the New and Improved Bad Beat Jackpot 2.0
Prepare for an exhilarating upgrade to our renowned Bad Beat Jackpot, …
Read more

Promo Code TTOPS100 BetOnline.ag Offers 100% Poker Bonus Match and FreeRoll Tournament
BetOnline.ag, a popular online gaming site, has unveiled a new promoti …
Read more

10 reasons to play Poker at BetOnline in 2019
2019 seems to be the year poker players search for a new poker site to …
Read more

UK And EU Poker Players Should Check Out The New One Time Poker Website
Most poker players in the European Union and United Kingdom may not be …
Read more