After 4 days 18 remain in WPT LA Poker Classic

Posted by Steve Ruddock on Feb 27, 2013 Posted in Poker News | No Comments »

wpt logoThe World Poker Tour LA Poker Classic was among the original stops on the now 11 year-old tour, and to this day, even in the gloomy aftermath of Black Friday, the tournament is among the biggest events of the year. This year was no exception on that front, with 517 entrants taking part in one of the few $10,000 buy-in Main Events remaining in poker, creating a near $5 million prize-pool and a first-place prize of just over $1,000,000.

After four days of action the field has been pared down to the final two tables, with a handful of well-known players near the top of the leader-board. Day four began with a slew of big names still in the hunt, but with players like Noah Schwartz, Ana Marquez, Jennifer Harman, Galen Hall, Eric Froehlich, Jesse Sylvia, Scott Clements, Joe Hachem, Dan Shak, Mimi Tran, Phil Laak, Carlos Mortensen, John Hennigan, Taylor Paur, and Dani Stern all falling on Day 4. So now the storylines fall on the following players:

Toby Lewis

One of the most accomplished UK players in tournament poker, Lewis recently signed with, and is perhaps looking for some of the run-good signing with Phil Ivey’s eponymously named website brings.

Paul Volpe

Volpe is a very accomplished online and live tournament player, and many feel that his time has come for a breakout year. So far Volpe has proven these people correct with a solid run in the 2013 PCA and now an even deeper run in the LA Poker Classic.

David Tuthill

Tuthill is coming off a win at the WSOP Circuit Series stop at Caesar’s Palace, and with a big finish in the LA Poker Classic, Tuthill will be a major player in the tournament Player of the Year races.

Jeremy Ausmus

The 2012 October Niner is proving to be no one-trick-pony, and could be one of the top young players in poker considering his tournament and cash-game chops.

Here is a look at the chip-counts and seating assignments for Day 5 of the WPT LA Poker Classic:


* Seat 1:  Blake Barousse  –  954,000  (47 bb)

* Seat 2:  Benjamin Zamani  –  1,380,000  (69 bb)

* Seat 3:  Michael “Squeaky” Winnett  –  300,000  (15 bb)

* Seat 4:  David Fong  –  733,000  (36 bb)

* Seat 5:  David Tuthill  –  1,086,000  (54 bb)

* Seat 6:  Toby Lewis  –  1,816,000  (90 bb)

* Seat 7:  Paul Klann  –  1,581,000  (79 bb)

* Seat 8:  Jesse Yaginuma  –  373,000  (18 bb)

* Seat 9:  Bruce Kramer  –  731,000  (36 bb)


* Seat 1:  Garrett Greer  –  793,000  (39 bb)

* Seat 2:  Alexander Venovski  –  675,000  (33 bb)

* Seat 3:  Randy Ohel  –  646,000  (32 bb)

* Seat 4:  Gary Lent  –  399,000  (19 bb)

* Seat 5:  Danny Fuhs  –  333,000  (16 bb)

* Seat 6:  Naoya Kihara  –  654,000  (32 bb)

* Seat 7:  Jeremy Ausmus  –  1,053,000  (52 bb)

* Seat 8:  Andrew Whitaker  –  436,000  (21 bb)

* Seat 9:  Paul Volpe  –  1,562,000  (78 bb)


Leave a Reply

High Stakes News

Promotional News

Introducing the New and Improved Bad Beat Jackpot 2.0
Prepare for an exhilarating upgrade to our renowned Bad Beat Jackpot, …
Read more

Promo Code TTOPS100 Offers 100% Poker Bonus Match and FreeRoll Tournament, a popular online gaming site, has unveiled a new promoti …
Read more

10 reasons to play Poker at BetOnline in 2019
2019 seems to be the year poker players search for a new poker site to …
Read more

UK And EU Poker Players Should Check Out The New One Time Poker Website
Most poker players in the European Union and United Kingdom may not be …
Read more