Greg Raymer wins second HPT Main Event of 2012

Posted by Steve Ruddock on Oct 08, 2012 Posted in Poker News | No Comments »

The 2004 World Series of Poker Main Event Champion has kept a high-profile in the poker world since his amazing run in 2004 that saw the former patent attorney become one of the most recognizable people in poker. Raymer has acted as one of the faces of PokerStars before parting ways with the company this year, and has also been very active in the fight to legalize online poker, working with both the Poker Players Alliance (PPA) and FairPlay USA.

But recently it has been Raymer’s poker accomplishments that have kept his name in the headlines as “The Fossilman” has won two Heartland Poker Tour (HPT) Main Events in the past three months. Raymer became only the second person in the history of the HPT to have won multiple Main Events and in doing so has shot to the top of the HPT Player of the Year race.

Raymer’s first HPT victory came at the end of July in New Mexico, where he won the HPT Albuquerque Main Event, taking home over $70,000 for the victory. Here is a look at the final table payouts from that tournament:

1. Greg Raymer – $71,875

2. Robert Crawford – $42,500

3. Scott Dougherty – $26,875

4. Benjie Benaviden – $21,550

5. Allan Hedin – $16,250

6. Steven Carruthers – $14,375

7. John Bechard – $11,875

8. Alberto Herrera – $10,625

9. Julian Melancon – $9,375

Raymer’s latest win came at the 2012 Heartland Poker Tour Missouri II No Limit Hold’em Main Event, which was held at the River City Casino in St. Louis, Missouri. The event featured the typical $1,500 buy-in featured at HPT events and attracted a field of 336 players. Joining Raymer at the final table was another man whose fame can be traced to the WSOP Main Event coverage on ESPN, 2008 WSOP Main Event final table participant Dennis Phillips. Phillips nearly won his first WSOP bracelet earlier this year, finishing as the runner-up in the Seniors Championship.

Here is a look at the complete final table payouts from the tournament:

1. Greg Raymer – $121,973

2. Ryan Hickey – $69,034

3. Alona Sushynina – $43,908

4. Shawn Roberts – $37,810

5. Penelope Banhidy – $29,272

6. Stan Jablonski – $23,906

7. Dennis Phillips – $14,636

8. Marvin Glowczewski – $13,904

9. Brad Albrinck – $12,246

Raymer’s recent run has catapulted him to the top of the HPT Player of the Year leader-board, but still has plenty of players within striking distance, and plenty of HPT events to go on the season, as the following table from the HPT website indicates:


1. Greg Raymer Raleigh, NC $193,848 100
2. Gary Lambert Quincy, IL $103,971 83
3. Terry Presley Huntsville, AR $91,558 78
4. Julian Melancon Farmington, NM $89,423 60
5. Cliff Waite Grand Junction, CO $22,170 53
6. Tony Lay Oklahoma City, OK $39,802 51
7. Phil Collins Las Vegas, NV $71,556 50
7. Daniel Acevedo Belvidere, IL $133,081 50
7. William Failla Smithtown, NY $119,064 50
7. Steen Ronlov Westminster, CO $270,905 50
7. Lloyd Marshall Waianae, HI $55,565 50
7. Joeseph Chalbaud Lake Mary, FL $105,177 50
7. Michael Harris Newcastle, WY $245,078 50
7. Naz Al Mankato, MN $118,482 50
7. Michael McCloud Telluride, CO $154,604 50

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

High Stakes News

Promotional News

Introducing the New and Improved Bad Beat Jackpot 2.0
Prepare for an exhilarating upgrade to our renowned Bad Beat Jackpot, …
Read more

Promo Code TTOPS100 Offers 100% Poker Bonus Match and FreeRoll Tournament, a popular online gaming site, has unveiled a new promoti …
Read more

10 reasons to play Poker at BetOnline in 2019
2019 seems to be the year poker players search for a new poker site to …
Read more

UK And EU Poker Players Should Check Out The New One Time Poker Website
Most poker players in the European Union and United Kingdom may not be …
Read more