Ryan Eriquezzo wins 2012 WSOPC National Championship

Posted by Steve Ruddock on Jul 13, 2012 Posted in Poker News | No Comments »

It was a strange week for poker pro Ryan Eriquezzo, first there was the very public breakup with his girlfriend, fellow poker pro Amanda Musumeci, that saw far too much dirty laundry aired on the Twitterverse; then Eriquezzo had to get ready for the $1,000,000 WSOPC National Championship invitational that he qualified for. Not only did Ryan make a deep run, but as fate would have it so did Amanda and the two found themselves at the final table of the tournament together!

The World Series of Poker Circuit Series National Championship is a full-fledged bracelet event at the WSOP. Among the entrants in the $1,000,000 freeroll are all of the winners from Main Events on WSOP Circuit stops, as well as the Player of the Series winners (accounting for 14 entries total). The field is then rounded out to an even 100 players by selecting the top 86 point-leaders on the WSOPC. This year an added wrinkle was also unveiled, as the WSOP opened up the tournament to the Top 100 players on the WSOP Player of the Year leader-board, offering them a chance at the prize-pool provided they paid a $10,000 rake-free entry-fee (which 57 of the 100 eligible players did in fact do).

Eriquezzo would go on to win the tournament, claiming the biggest victory of his career thus far, after finding himself very short with five players remaining. At this point in the tournament Eriquezzo looked to be heading for the exits, but as the saying goes “unlucky in love, lucky in poker” and Ryan managed a few double-ups on his way to taking control of the tournament.

Eriquezzo won his way into the WSOPC National Championship by winning the Circuit Stop in Atlantic City back in March, which at the time was the highlight of his poker career, earning him a $191k payday. Now the East Coast poker pro can lay claim to a WSOP bracelet, as well as the title of WSOPC National Champion.

Here is a look at the final table payouts from the 2012 WSOPC National Championship:

1. Ryan Eriquezzo — $416,051

2. Nikolas Stone — $257,119

3. Huy Nguyen — $186,265

4. Matt Keikoan — $137,485

5. Yung Hwang — $103,322

6. David “ODB” Baker — $79,002

7. Sam Stein — $61,434

8. Amanda Musumeci — $48,576

Last year Sam Barnhart won the WSOPC National Championship and followed it up with an extremely deep run in the WSOP Main Event. Unfortunately for Ryan Eriquezzo he will not be following in Barnhart’s footsteps as he was eliminated from the Main Event on Day 2.


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

High Stakes News

Promotional News

Introducing the New and Improved Bad Beat Jackpot 2.0
Prepare for an exhilarating upgrade to our renowned Bad Beat Jackpot, …
Read more

Promo Code TTOPS100 BetOnline.ag Offers 100% Poker Bonus Match and FreeRoll Tournament
BetOnline.ag, a popular online gaming site, has unveiled a new promoti …
Read more

10 reasons to play Poker at BetOnline in 2019
2019 seems to be the year poker players search for a new poker site to …
Read more

UK And EU Poker Players Should Check Out The New One Time Poker Website
Most poker players in the European Union and United Kingdom may not be …
Read more