Spanish teenager wins WSOPE Main Event

Posted by Steve Ruddock on Oct 26, 2013 Posted in Poker News | No Comments »

wsop bracelet2There have been seven World Series of Poker Europe Main Events played and for the second time a teenager has won the tournament. In 2007 it was 18 year-old Annette Obrestad who captured the title, and this year it was 19 year-old Adrian Mateos of Spain who took down the tournament.

When the starting flights began last weekend Mateos was one of the relatively anonymous players in the 375 player field, which generated a €3.6 million prize-pool and a €1 million first-place prize. When the final table began Mateos was again just another unknown player sitting among some of poker’s biggest names like Fabrice Soulier, Dominik Nitsche, and Benny Spindler, but by this time Mateos had gained some notoriety as he entered the final table with the chip-lead:

* Seat 1: Benny Spindler -Germany- 1,748,000 chips

* Seat 2: Fabrice Soulier –France- 1,871,000 chips

* Seat 3: Dominik Nitsche -Germany- 2,354,000 chips

* Seat 4: Adrian Mateos –Spain- 3,781,000 chips

* Seat 5: Ravi Raghavan -USA- 898,000 chips

* Seat 6: Jerome Huge –France- 637,000 chips

Mateos dominated the final table, and it took until heads-up play before adversity would strike. With a 4-1 chip-lead over French poker pro Fabrice Soulier the wheels came off for Mateos, and soon it was Soulier in the driver’s seat. But Mateos was able to battle through, and after 160 hands of heads-up poker he finally dispatched the Frenchman, winning the World Series of Poker Europe Main Event.

For Soulier, the second place finish marked the 11th six-figure cash of his career, which includes winning a WSOP bracelet back in 201. Soulier’s career tournament earnings are now just a shade under $5 million, ranking him 3rd on France’s all-time money-list according to the Hendon Mob database.

Here is a look at the Top 8 payouts from the tournament from

1. Adrian Mateos – €1,000,000

2. Fabrice Soulier – €610,000

3. Dominik Nitsche – €400,000

4. Jerome Huge –€251,000

5. Ravi Raghavan – €176,000

6. Benny Spindler –€126,000

7. Andrei Konopelko –€101,000

8. Shannon Shorr –€77,500

Mateos now joins one of the most impressive lists of champions you’ll ever see for any poker tournament, and the runner-up list which now includes Fabrice Soulier is just as impressive:

* 2007 WSOPE Champion: Annette Obrestad

* 2008 WSOPE Champion: John Juanda

* 2009 WSOPE Champion: Barry Shulman — Runner-Up Daniel Negreanu

* 2010 WSOPE Champion: James Bord

* 2011WSOPE Champion: Elio Fox – Runner-Up Chris Moorman

* 2012 WSOPE Champion: Phil Hellmuth

* 2013 WSOPE Champion: Adrian Mateos – Runner-Up Fabrice Soulier


Leave a Reply

High Stakes News

Promotional News

Introducing the New and Improved Bad Beat Jackpot 2.0
Prepare for an exhilarating upgrade to our renowned Bad Beat Jackpot, …
Read more

Promo Code TTOPS100 Offers 100% Poker Bonus Match and FreeRoll Tournament, a popular online gaming site, has unveiled a new promoti …
Read more

10 reasons to play Poker at BetOnline in 2019
2019 seems to be the year poker players search for a new poker site to …
Read more

UK And EU Poker Players Should Check Out The New One Time Poker Website
Most poker players in the European Union and United Kingdom may not be …
Read more